Gluten Free Food

Gluten Free Food

June 14, 2018

Food Products You Didn’t Know Contained Gluten

 

What is gluten?

First of all, what is gluten? Gluten is the main group of proteins found in wheat and other cereal grains, including barley and rye. Gluten is often added to food products because it is elastic and acts like a glue to bind ingredients together.

What’s the problem with gluten?

The problem with gluten is that it can be highly inflammatory for many individuals, and may even set off an immune response in highly sensitive individuals.

Below lists the top food products you likely didn’t know were packed with gluten:

 

Couscous

Couscous may not look like a typical gluten containing food, but it is most definitely not a gluten-free food. Couscous is made from wheat so if you are trying to avoid gluten, then you will want to avoid consuming couscous.

 

Brownies

Brownies may not look like they contain gluten either, but yes, unfortunately they do. Note that all desserts that come from boxes (also including cookies and cakes) will likely contain gluten. Look for gluten-free versions of your favorite treats.

 

Gravy

Most gravies contain flour to thicken them up, and flour is gluten. Unless the gravy specifically says it is gluten-free, assume that gravy is loaded with gluten. Don’t want to give up gravy on Thanksgiving? Make your own! There are countless recipes online for gluten-free gravy.

 

Imitation crab

Be aware that sushi restaurants will use imitation crab for some of their rolls, most notably California rolls. Gluten is often mixed within the imitation crab, meaning you are consuming gluten without even realizing it. Ask the restaurant if they use imitation crab (hopefully they don’t!) and if they do, then avoid ordering rolls that contain it.

 

Salad dressing

Many salad dressings will have wheat products added to help keep the ingredients together. For this reason, skip the salad dressing or just use plain old olive oil and vinegar.

Bonus tip: Instead of using salad dressing, try using another binding agent such as hummus or guacamole.

 

Soy sauce

You might be surprised to hear that soy sauce contains gluten, but yes, it is loaded with it. Soy sauce is made from fermented wheat, making it a highly gluten containing food. Look out for other marinades and sauces that use soy sauce as an ingredient, such as teriyaki sauce.

Bonus tip: If you love the flavor of soy sauce, try liquid aminos which is gluten-free. This is what we will use when we order sushi, or we’ll add to veggies to boost the flavors.

 

Oats

Unless the oats specifically say gluten-free, assume they contain gluten. Oats in themselves are gluten-free, but most of the time they are processed with wheat products making them non gluten-free.

 

Meatloaf

Meatloaf typically is made with breadcrumbs, so unless these breadcrumbs are gluten-free, assume you are getting gluten if you order this. Other tasty foods that fall into this category are crab cakes, croutons, and anything breaded.

 

Cornbread

Even though “bread” is in the name, many do not realize that cornbread is not gluten free. This is because most recipes call for wheat flour to be mixed with corn flour for making cornbread. Unless you see that the cornbread is labeled gluten-free, assume it is packed with gluten.

 

Licorice

Wheat is often used to bind all of the ingredients together in licorice. There are many sticky candies that use wheat or another gluten agent to bind the ingredients together, so always try and read the ingredient list – or just cut the gummies out completely!

 

Pie

The gluten in pie typically will come from the crust because most pie crusts are made with gluten containing products, such as flour.

 

Canned soup

Many canned soups will contain gluten and wheat products to help bind the ingredients together.

 

Alcohol

 Many different types of alcohol contain gluten, including, whiskey, bourbon, and rye. Wine, tequila, and rum should be free from gluten and are ok to consume if you are trying not to take in gluten.

 

Pickles

Pickles themselves are gluten-free, but often pickles have malt vinegar applied to them which comes from wheat. Look for pickles that have been pickled using white vinegar or are specifically labeled gluten-free.

 

Main takeaways..

Gluten is in a wide variety of foods, both savory and sweet, and there really isn’t a great way to tell if a food contains gluten or not – just assume it does contain gluten unless proven otherwise. It is important to note that there are many MANY other foods that contain gluten, but above are some of the most commonly unknown sources.



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in - World Wide Web Journal -

Future Bikini Blog
How To Maintain Your Summer Tan Long After Beach Season Ends

September 16, 2018

There’s nothing worse than going to bed beautifully bronzed only to wake up paler than you remember, as if the color seeped out while you slept

Read More

THE 10 INSANE HEALTH BENEFITS OF ORGASMS
THE 10 INSANE HEALTH BENEFITS OF ORGASMS

August 20, 2018 5 Comments

When it comes to orgasms you really don't have to tell us twice to get more of them into our lives, because BOY are they the greatest gift to humankind.

Read More

7 MASTURBATION TECHNIQUES THAT WILL MAKE YOU SCREAM 'I DON'T NEED A MAN!'
7 MASTURBATION TECHNIQUES THAT WILL MAKE YOU SCREAM 'I DON'T NEED A MAN!'

August 10, 2018 3 Comments

Masturbation, much like anything in the bedroom, improves with practice — so we have some homework for you! 

Read More

Size & Fit

Please use this guide as an estimate of what size to purchase. Some styles and cuts may vary slightly to our size guide measurements but our guides are usually very accurate.

If you need any assistance, please email us at
care@futurebikini.com or hit the Chat Live button at the bottom right of your browser. :)
If we are offline, please leave your email address and we'll get back to you as soon as we can!

MEASURING GUIDELINES

BUST: Thread the tape measure under your arms, across your shoulder blades at back and around the fullest part of your bust at the front. Relax your arms at your sides while keeping the tape parallel with the floor. If this measurement falls on the ½ centimeter, round up.

WAIST: Bend to one side to find the natural indentation in your torso. This is your natural waist. Run the tape around your natural waistline, keeping the tape parallel to the floor and one finger between your body and the tape for a more comfortable fit.

HIP: Stand on a level surface with your feet together. Measure around the fullest part of your hips and bottom, keeping the tape parallel to the floor.

Conversion Size Chart

Size Australia US/Canada/UK Japan Europe
S 8 (A-B) 32-34 (A-B) 70-75 (C-D) 85-90 (A-B)
M 10 (B-C) 32-34 (B-C) 75-80 (D-E) 90-95 (B-C)
L 12 (C-D) 34 (D) 80-85 (E-F) 95-100 (C-D)

 

Bikini Bottoms

Size  Australia USA Canada Japan France UK Europe
S 8 4 4 7 36 8 34
M 10 6 6 9-11 38-40 10-12 36-38
L 12 8 8 11-13 40-42 12-14 38-40

 

Bikini Tops

Size S M L
Cup Size A-B B-C D
Bust Size (Inches) 32-34 32-34 34

 

One Piece Swimwear

One Piece Size S M L
Bottoms Size S M L
Height (Inches) 5'2' - 5'7' 5'4' - 5'8' 5'5' - 5'8'